Detroit motivates me to return to the blog…


An article in today’s Detroit Free Press causes me to finally get back to posting, after almost two year’s absence.

  • In this article
  • the two cities of Detroit and Pittsburgh are compared, especially comparing how much rougher a time of things Detroit has had since the early 80’s.

    I was born in Detroit, grew up in Ann Arbor and have many fond memories of Southeast Michigan. But, as the article discusses, Detroit, though with a larger metro population, is struggling much more. Yet, from what I understand, Pittsburgh lost much more in the “big steel” decline than Detroit did in the auto downturn of the early 80’s.

    Of course, Michigan lost me – and I didn’t want to go. I moved on to a job in Texas, came back to Michigan via Grand Rapids a few years later, and ended up in Pittsburgh by 1995. I go back to Michigan often, since I still have family there, but the opportunities in Pittsburgh are, for me, significant.

    Pittsburgh had more industrial pain, earlier. There is much still to do, but (despite the protestations of many of my friends who are native Pittsburghers) for a “rust belt” city, Pittsburgh is well positioned.

    Detroit has a much steeper climb ahead, and I dearly hope the forward motion can gain momentum. It is another great city that built America and the city, the region and, especially the people, have much to offer.

    Plus, they have Jim Leyland!

    About sehanley

    Musician, journalist, teacher, technologist, consultant & former NPR station manager. A media and entertainment professional, journalist, entrepreneur, technology advocate, educator, student, mentor, manager, and media, musical and theatrical performer. Voice talent and coach for music and spoken word. I also act and sing (mostly jazz, but a lot of experience with choral, classical and musical theater, too). Brass instruments, too, but my AF ofM card lapsed years ago. Heard on the national jazz service, PubJazz, and in the Pittsburgh market on WZUM/Pittsburgh Jazz Channel. I also teach college level courses in media and journalism. I managed the leading NPR/public radio station in Pittsburgh, PA for 16 years, a few years later was GM of the NPR station WBHM in Birmingham, AL. I served for six very busy years on the NPR Board of Directors and have done much volunteer service for national and local organizations in the communities I have been privileged to live and work in. Former NPR Board Member, former President of the Pittsburgh Radio Organization, sometime musician, relentless technology advocate. Opinions expressed are not the viewpoints of any employer or affiliation past or present.
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    